Editor : Mandisa Vundla
Article by : Noluthando Nojaja |

With the nominees having been announced for the 12th Annual SAFTA Awards, at a glamorous affair at the Inanda Country Club in February, it is now all systems go. The National Film and Video Foundation, whose key objectives include celebrating excellence in the local film and television scene; encouraging collaboration and developing new talent whilst honouring existing talent and productions. This year’s nominees are a true reflection of these objectives, boasting a combination of new talent that continues to shine a spotlight on all the incredible productions that have kept viewers glued to their screens.

Some of the more popular productions making their way onto the nominees’ list for 2018 are; Inxeba (The Wound), Isibaya and Inumber Number. Isibaya leads the pack with nine nominations, followed closely by the discontinued SABC3 telenovela High Rollers and Mzansi Magic’s Isithembiso, both bagging six nominations. The controversial and critically acclaimed film, Inxeba, swept the board in the Feature Film category with eight nominations under its belt, including nominations for its lead actors, Nakhane Toure, Bongile Mantsai and Niza Ncoyini. The film, which has been doing well internationally, receiving 12 awards to date, seems to be going for gold on the local scene.

Perhaps one of the most coveted and highly anticipated categories is the award for Most Popular TV Soap/Telenovela, with 17 local shows gunning for the Golden Horn. This is one of two categories, alongside the Best TV Presenter award, in which the voting public chooses the winner. Fans get to choose their favourite from the following nominees: 7de Laan, Binnelanders, Broken Vows, Getroud Met Rugby, Gold Diggers Season 2, High Rollers Season 3, Isibaya, Isidingo, Isithembiso, Keeping Score, Rhythm City, Ring of Lies 2, Scandal, Skeem Saam, Suidooster, The Queen and Uzalo. Soapies Generations: The Legacy and Muvhango have decided to boycott this year’s SAFTA awards. The Legacy opted not to enter this year’s awards because their cast has not been getting recognition from the awards show since the popular soapie rebranded in 2014. On the other hand, Muvhango has boycotted the awards for the past two years, citing concern over the voting process as the reason.

The award ceremony will be broadcast live on SABC 2. Be sure to tune in on the 24th of March 2018 to witness this year’s wins, glamour and special moments.

About author